harvey whitehouse web

Director of the Centre for the Study of Social Cohesion

Harvey Whitehouse is an anthropologist whose research focuses on the evolution of social complexity. One of the founders of the cognitive science of religion, Harvey is well known for his theory of “modes of religiosity,” which explains how the frequency and emotional intensity of collective rituals influence the scale and structure of religious organisations. He is Chair of Social Anthropology at the University of Oxford and a Professorial Fellow of Magdalen College.

For more information about Harvey’s work, please visit




Deputy Director


pieter francois

Deputy Director and Research Coordinator of Cultural Evolution Lab

Pieter François is an Associate Professor in Cutural Evolution, and Fellow in Anthropology and Tutor for Graduates at St. Benet’s Hall, University of Oxford. His work focuses on travel and migration in the nineteenth century and on the evolution of social complexity, ritual and warfare. Together with Professor Peter Turchin (UConn) and Professor Harvey Whitehouse (Oxford) he founded the Seshat: Global History Databank in 2011. In 2013 he won the British Library Labs competition with his Sample Generator for Digitized Texts.

For more information about Pieter's work, please visit PieterFrancois



Research Coordinator


jonathan jong

Research Coordinator of AnthroLab

Jonathan Jong is an experimental psychologist whose research is mainly on the psychology of religion. In particular, he is interested in what motivates religious belief: what psychological needs—and especially what unconscious needs—might religious beliefs fulfill. He is a Research Fellow at Coventry University, and Deputy Director of the Brain, Belief and Behaviour group there.

For more information about Jonathan’s work, please visit





adam baimel

Dr Adam Baimel

oliver scott curry

Dr Oliver Scott Curry

ben johannes

Dr Ben Johannes

rohan kapitany

Dr Rohan Kapitány

chris kavanagh

Dr Chris Kavanagh

barbara muzzulini

Dr Barbara Muzzilini

martha newson web

Dr Martha Newson



selin nugent

Dr Selin Nugent

mark stanford

Dr Mark Stanford




Kiran Basava - St Edmund Hall

Julia Ebner - St John's College

Robert Jagiello - St Antony's College

Tara Tasuji - Green Templeton College


John Alderdice (Harris Manchester College, Oxford)

Marta Bartkowiak (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Brock Bastian (University of New South Wales)

Amy Bogaard (St Peter’s College, Oxford)

Tiago Soares Bortolini (Universidade Federal Rio de Janeiro)

Robert Brennan (Trinity College Dublin)

Adrian Cherney (University of Queensland)

Kostis Christakis  (University of Crete)

Michael Cowan (Loyola University New Orleans)

Gul Deniz Salali (University College London)

Jorge Dorfman Knijnik (Western Sydney University)

Kevin Feeney (Trinity College Dublin)

Patrycja Filipowicz (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Robin Fitzgerald (University of Queensland)

Karen Gonsalkorale (University of Sydney)

Jamin Halberstadt (University of Otago)

Eleni Hatzaki (University of Cincinnati)

Michael Hochberg (Institut des Sciences de l’Evolution de Montpellier)

Ian Hodder (Stanford University)

Jonathan Lanman (Queen’s University Belfast)

Cristine Legare (University of Texas at Austin)

Arkadiusz Marciniak (Adam Mickiewicz University)

Camilla Mazzucato (Stanford University)

Paul Reddish (National University of Singapore)

Elaine Reese (University of Otago)

Silvio Ricardo da Silva (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais)

David Sloan Wilson (Binghamton University and the Evolution Institute)

Eddie Tong (National University of Singapore)

Rachel Watson-Jones (University of Texas in Austin)

Fiona White (University of Sydney)

Masaki Yuki (Hokkaido University)

List of site pages